There are more types of courses that website owners offer for their visitors depending on the goal they want to achieve with the respective courses.

One of the cases, when the “Access Restrictions” option of Thrive Apprentice comes in handy, is when you wish to provide the visitors of your website with an online course, but you would also like them to subscribe to your website.

With this option, you can limit the access to a course for email subscribers only.

How does it work?

First, you give your website visitors kind of a sneak-peak, meaning that you make one or more lessons publicly available. This will give anyone who visits your website a preview on how useful the course is.

After that, you make the rest of the course available “Only for Logged-In Users”. This means that the visitors of your website will have to either log in (if they already have an account) or subscribe/register to your website, in order to get the full course.

Note: Naturally, you can also choose to skip the first part and make the entire course available only for logged-in users.

How to use the Access Restrictions to get subscribers

After creating your first course (details on how to do that here) you will have to restrict access to it. In order to do this, first, go to your Thrive Apprentice dashboard and access the course that you have created by clicking on it:

Once you are on the page of the course, click on the "Access Restrictions" tab to open it:

The next step is to activate the “Restrict Access” option from the tab that opened:

Now, a section will open where you will have to set this up further:

Access Rules

The first thing you have to set up is the restriction type, which will be one of the rules from the "Access Rule" section. Click on the "Add Rule" option:

This will open another section where you can select the rule from. The options that appear in the "Access Rule" section are based on what plugins/connections are activated on your website.

Since, in this case, the goal is to have a subscribers-only course, the default "WordPress Role" option has to be used. Thus, click on the "WordPress Role" option:

This will open a box with the user roles that are set up for your WordPress page. Here you can determine what role does a visitor have to have in order to be able to access the course.

This box contains every user role that you have added to your WordPress admin dashboard. Thus, if you add new ones, they will be displayed here too and you can give access to those specific roles as well.

Just select the role(s) you want to give access to, by checking them. For instance, if you want to give access to subscribers, select the "Subscriber" user role here. Then click on the "Add Rule" button to finish this step and go on:

Exclusions

In the next section, you can exclude a number of lessons from the restrictions you set up. This way, you can offer the first lesson(s) to visitors who are not logged in, as well as those who have different roles than the ones you have selected in the "Access Rules" section.

In order to do this, you just have to use the up/down arrows to select the number of lessons you wish to offer without restrictions:

Message

In the “Message for users that do not have access” section, you can add an informative message that the visitors who are not logged-in will see, when trying to access the parts of the course that are not available to them.

At the moment, there is a default message in the respective box. However, you can easily delete this (just select it and delete it) and fill in the message you want to show instead:

You can also use the text formatting and styling options above the box to make your message suit your needs even more. The main idea of this message is to let people know what they have to do in order to get access to the course.

Tip: The users will be able to register using the "Register a new account here" option from below the login form. However, if you wish, you can set up a different Registration page and link it in this message, so people will use that page to register/subscribe.

Restriction Label

You can also set up restriction labels for your subscribers-only courses. The "Only for Logged-in Users" label is the default one that will automatically be applied to your course when you save the restrictions. However, you can easily change this.

In order to add a new label here, open the "Restriction Label" drop-down, write the name of the new label in the “Add Label field” and then, click on the color circle next to it. This will open a color picker where you can select the color that you wish for the label. Once you have done that, click on “Apply”.

After you have done these, click on the “Add Label” button and the label will be added, so you can select it from the “Restriction Label” drop-down anytime.

The restriction label will be displayed on the index card of your course like this:

When you have finished setting up every part of this option, you can simply click on the “Save” button from the bottom left side of the “Access Restrictions” tab.

This way you will save the access restrictions for the course.

Preview the Access Restrictions

After you finish setting up the course you can check how it will look like for the logged-in visitors of your website, as well as the ones who are not logged in.

First, make sure that not only the content of your course but the course itself is also published.

Logged-in users:

In order to see how the course will be displayed for people who are already logged-in on your website, simply click on the “Preview Course” option from the upper right part of the page.

This will open the course in a new tab, in the same browser, where you are logged in as the admin of the website.

Here is an example of it:

Users who are not logged in:

If you want to see how the course will be displayed for people who are not logged in, then, open the page where the course can be found, in another browser, where you are not logged in; or open it in an incognito window.

This is an example of the way a course is displayed for a visitor who is not logged in:

You can see the restrictions displayed for the second and the third lessons. If the visitor who is not logged-in tries to access a restricted lesson, he/she will be redirected to a login page.

This page displays the message you have set up earlier and prompts the visitor to log in to his/her account or register in order to get full access to the course:

In case you would like to find out more info on how Thrive Apprentice works, please check out this Knowledge Base section.

Hopefully, this article was useful to you. If so, please give it a smile below :)

Did this answer your question?