Thrive Apprentice 4.0 has just been released! Check out this blog post to see what changes will be applied once you update.

Unsure about what the Products feature for Thrive Apprentice is? Learn all about it here.

In the "Access restriction rules" tab of your Thrive Apprentice Products section, you can configure the content that will be displayed if a user tries to access your product without the necessary permissions or without having purchased it yet.

This set of options is different from the "Login & Access Restriction Settings", which are configured sitewide.

The major difference between these two lies in the fact that "Access restriction rules" are defined at product level, so they overwrite the ones set at site level, and can be found here:

Whilst the "Login & Access Restriction Settings" are defined at site level and can be found here:

The dedicated article for the global "Login & Access Restriction" settings can be found here:

Now let's go ahead and see how you can use the "Access restriction rules" when setting up your product.

So, as already mentioned, in the "Access restriction rules" section you can set up what should happen when someone tries to access your product without the necessary permissions for it.

Once your digital product is created, you will be able to access these restrictions by heading over to the Products tab of your Thrive Apprentice navigation panel:

Here, click on the product for which you plan to set up the access restriction rules:

And, from the same left navigation panel, select "Access restriction rules" to get to this dashboard:

You can see that this screen is split into two separate sections, each serving a different purpose.

Standard contexts

User not logged in

This is where you can set up the behaviour for when someone wants to access the products without being logged in:

Click on the "default site behaviour" text :

This will trigger this pop-up where you can edit the rule:

If you expand the drop-down list, you'll see this set of options:

  • Default side behaviour: this means that the behaviour set in your global Thrive Apprentice settings will be inherited

  • Display message (deprecated): with this option, you are able to display a custom message to anyone trying to access the course without being logged in. This option has been deprecated as of February 2021:

  • Display custom content: choose to display a custom content page that you can view or edit using the available options:

  • Redirect to login & registration page: if you use this option, you will redirect the user to the login and registration page. You can also decide which would be the default state of the form shown to the users, as well as whether you want to redirect them to the content they were trying to access after the successful login:

  • Redirect to custom page: lastly, you can use this option if you have a custom page in mind that you want to use. You can search an already existing page from your website, or create a new one directly from this pop-up:

Content is locked (drip feed protection)

This set of options is applicable for when your product is locked with a drip campaign template:

Click on the hyperlink text to get to the "Edit rule behaviour" lightbox and see the list of options available for this feature:

The options are identical to the ones already described above. Keep in mind though that what you configure here applies to the situations in which your content has a drip feed protection applied to it.

Purchase Protection

This is where you can configure what content to show to the users who are trying to access a product, without having purchased it:

The users can buy access to that product through the checkout or membership tool you set up, and, in doing so they will get access to whatever content that product protects.

If not, they will see the tailored message that you set up here.

Not yet purchased (default)

So here as well the hyperlinked text can be clicked to open the rule behavior lightbox:

The list of options is identical to the ones already described in this article, so make sure to check those out if you want to read about each of them:

+Add rule

What you can also do here is to create your own custom rule:

Give it a name and open the conditions drop-down:

Here, you can select between two types of conditions:

Important!

Keep in mind that you can only use a condition once per rule. You can add multiple conditions to the same rule, but they cannot be duplicated.

In this example, I'll create a rule in which both conditions need to be met. So, for that, select the first condition, which is "User as purchased another product":

Then pick the product from the list, and then add a second condition:

The second condition is also the only one left to choose because the first one has already been selected once:

Now go ahead and pick a WordPress role:

And once done, click on "Next":

What you will have to do now is to decide what content to show if a logged-in user tries to access product content in this context:

Here as well you have two possible custom contents to choose from:

And lastly, after you set this up, click on the "Save" button to return to the main screen:

Now your rule should be visible on top of the already existing one:

If you hover over it, you will see that you can remove it anytime you want, and also, you can move it around using the dotted option from the left-hand side of the container:

If you decide you want to remove this rule, you will be asked to confirm your selection:

And if you have multiple rules stacked on top of each other, you can rearrange them:

And this is how you can use and customize the access restriction rules at product level. Hopefully, you found this article useful.

We have other articles of this type available in our dedicated Thrive Apprentice section, that I have linked here if you want to check it out:

Also, don't hesitate to rate this article with a smile if you enjoyed reading it!

Did this answer your question?