The "Login & access restriction" settings come in handy when you want to publish an online course for your website's visitors, but you would also like them to subscribe to your website before accessing the course.

You are thus restricting access to only those visitors who have subscribed to your website.

If a visitor tries to access a course or a part of a course that they do not have access to, then a message will be displayed to them as per the settings you have set up in the "Login & access restriction" panel.

Important!

The settings that you choose here will act as global settings and will be automatically applied to all your newly Thrive Apprentice courses.

However, for the already existing courses, you should keep in mind that after you set up the "Login & access restriction" settings from here, you will also have to go to the "Access restrictions" tab and make sure the same settings are applied to the selected course:

Access the Settings Section

In order to access the "Login & access restriction" settings, you first have to go to your "Settings" section of your Thrive Apprentice dashboard:

Then, in the panel that opens, look for "Login & access restriction" and select it:

The "Login & access restriction" dashboard will appear on the right side of your screen and you can start using the available options from there:

Login & Registration Page

The first thing you can set up here is your "Login & registration page":

This will be the page on which your visitors can log in to access your Thrive Apprentice courses.

You can, for example, search for an already existing page from your website:

And then select the page you searched for:

If you haven't set up such a page before, and you would like to do that without returning to your WordPress admin dashboard, you can do so from the next available option, "Create new page":

Add the name of the new page, and click on "Add Page":

As soon as you do that your page will be created and you can start customizing it:

You can find all the information you need about how to set up this page in this article available in our knowledge base.

Restricted content

The next available section from your "Login & access restriction" settings is the "Restricted content" one:


You can decide here what happens if a user tries to access a course that is only available to logged-in users, or a course to which they do not have access.

If a guest tries to access a course that is only available to logged in users

Use the options from here if you want to decide what happens if a guest tries to access one of your courses that is only available to logged-in users.

Such a situation might be if, for example, a logged out user tries to access a course that is only available to registered users, or if a logged out user tries to access a course that is only delivered after being purchased through a third-party e-commerce platform (such as SendOwl, for example).

Open the drop-down to see the full list of available options you can use:

Select the one that best suits your needs, when it comes to what content to display for those users how are not logged in.

If a user tries to access a course that they don't have access to

This section allows you to decide what happens if a user tries to access one of your courses that they do not have access to.

For example, these settings would come in handy if you want to decide what happens if a logged-in user tried to access a course without having purchased it through a third-party e-commerce platform, or if a logged-in user tried to access the course as a "Subscriber" user role, and the course requires a "Customer" user role instead.

Here as well you have a drop-down with the full list of available options you can use for all the users who do not have access to your courses:

We have created a more in-depth article that describes what each option does, which you can find linked here.

I really hope this article about how to use the "Login & access restriction" settings was useful to you.

If you want to read more about Thrive Apprentice, make sure to check out the other available articles from our knowledge base.

Also, don't hesitate to rate this article with a smile if you found it helpful :)

Did this answer your question?