Once you have created your course in Thrive Apprentice and you have set up the integration with ThriveCart as well, you will have the possibility to determine who will have access to your course. If you need help setting up the ThriveCart integration from your Thrive Apprentice dashboard, please check out this article.

You can set up restrictions, thus making the course available only for someone who has already bought your ThriveCart products, or if they buy one now.

In order to achieve this, you will have to add an access rule to your course. Keep reading to find out how to do that.

Setting Up Access Restrictions

To get started, you need to access the course that you have created, by clicking on it, in your Thrive Apprentice dashboard:

After you have accessed the course, click on the “Access restrictions” tab, from the course page:

Then, when the tab opens, enable the "Restrict access" option:

This will open a section, and you can start setting up the restrictions, exclusions, and other details here:

Access Rules

The first thing you will have to set up is the access rule for ThriveCart. In order to do that, scroll to the bottom side of the screen and look for the "ThriveCart Product" section and click on it:

Next, activate the "Give access if user has ThriveCart Product" toggle:

As simple as that, the new rule has been added. You can continue setting up the general restrictions (exclusions, the message for the users that don't have access, and the "Restriction Label"), as follows:

Exclusions

From the same "Acess restrictions" tab you have the possibility to select a number of lessons that will be excluded from the restrictions you set up for this course.

This means that you can offer the first lesson(s) to visitors who have not purchased the products that are needed for accessing the course.

If you want to use this option, simply use the up/down arrows, to set the number of lessons:

Message

You also have the possibility to change the “Message for users that do not have access” field. You can set up an informative message for the visitors who will try to access the course, or parts of the course, that are not available to them.

Feel free to delete the default message from here, and fill in the custom message that you want to display instead:

Restriction Label

You can also set up restriction labels for your subscribers-only courses. You can easily change the label. Click on the field below the option, to open a dropdown with the available labels:

You can then choose one of the existing labels, or click on "Add Label" if you want to create another one:

Write down the name of the label in the text field, and click on the color field next to it. This will open a color picker where you can select the color that you wish for the label. ​ Once set, click on "Save Label":

The label will then be created, and you can select it from the “Restriction label” dropdown anytime:

When you finish setting up all of the restriction settings, click on "Save":

Preview the course

After setting up all the restrictions, you can check how the course will be displayed for the logged-in visitors of your website, as well as the ones who are not logged in.

Logged In Users

In order to see how the course will be displayed for people who are already logged-in on your website, simply click on the “Preview Course” option from the upper right part of the page.

This will open the course in a new tab, in the same browser, where you are logged in as the admin of the website. Here is an example:

Users who are not logged in

You can also check and see how the course will be displayed for people who are not logged-in. For that, open the page where the course can be found, in another browser, where you are not logged in; or open it in an incognito window. This is an example of the way a course is displayed for a visitor who is not logged in:

As you can see, the labels will let the users know that they have to purchase the product first. If, however, they try to open one of the restricted lessons, they will have to login first:

This is how you can set an access rule for ThriveCart, in a Thrive Apprentice course. If you want to find out more about Thrive Apprentice, please make sure to check out this knowledge base section.

I hope this article was useful to you. If so, please make sure to rate it with a smile below :)

Did this answer your question?