One of the key features to be used in Thrive Apprentice, when creating courses, is setting up the "Login & access restriction" options from the "Settings" tab:

For this section, we have created a separate article, which you can find here. Make sure to read that one, if you need help setting up the login & registration page.

This article will only go through the options under the "Restricted Content" section:

With the help of this option, you can decide what happens if a user tries to access a course that is only available to logged-in users, or a course to which they do not have access.

As you will notice, there are two situations that can be set up here, as presented below:

1. If a guest tries to access a course that is only available to logged in users

Firstly, you can use the options from here to decide what happens if a guest tries to access one of your courses that is only available to logged in users.

Open the drop-down to see the full list of available options you can use:

Display custom content

If you use the first option, then you can basically display a custom content page to your guest:

You also have three additional options from where you can establish the page title settings:

  • Display Original Title

If you choose to "Display original title", just as shown above, then the guest will be able to see the title of the part of the course they wanted to access in the first place:

  • Display Custom Title

You can also choose to "Display custom title", and in this case, a new field will appear, in which you can insert the text you want:

After you insert the new text, hit Enter on your keyboard, to make sure the text has been replaced.

Now, any guest who is not logged in and tries to access the course will see the message you have entered here:

  • Hide Title

Lastly, you can also opt to choose the third option, "Hide title" if you want, and this means that the title will not be displayed:

Furthermore, if you want to preview or edit the content shown above, which states that "You must be logged in to access this course", you can do that as well:

  • The "View" icon will let you preview the page

  • The "Edit with Thrive Architect" option lets you edit the "Restricted Content" page, using the Thrive Architect editor. You will be able to use the left sidebar options of the "Content Box" to modify the existing elements, and also add new ones, from the element list:

You can customize the page using the options from the left and right sidebars just as you would do with any page or post that you would like to edit with Thrive Architect.

Redirect to login & registration page

The next available option from the drop-down is the "Redirect to login & registration page" one, and you can use this option if, in the situation that someone is not logged in, you want to redirect them to the login & registration page:

If you go for this option, you will be able to decide the default state of the form that will be shown to the guest:

This means that you can choose whether the users should see the "Login" or the "Register" form if they do not have access to the course.

Lastly, you can choose what happens after someone successfully logs in. Use this toggle if you want to redirect the logged in user directly to the content they were initially trying to access:

Redirect to custom page

The "Redirect to custom page" option lets you choose the page from your website to which you want the guest to be redirected when they try to access the course:

As soon as you select this option from the drop-down list, you will notice that you can either look for a page that has already been created on your website, or simply create a new one directly from here, without the need to leave the Thrive Apprentice dashboard:

Display login form

If you choose the last option, "Display login form", you will get this notification message, to let you know that this option was deprecated as of February 2021:

This is because the login form is not visually editable, hence a more better-suited option would be one of the already explained options available in the drop-down list.

These are all the options that can be set for a guest that is trying to access a course that's only available for logged in users.

Besides that, in the "Restricted Content" section, you can also set up what should happen if a user tries to access a course that they don't have access to (for example, someone might be logged in, but have not purchased the course, so they will not get access to it).

2. If a user tries to access a course that they don't have access to

Here as well, you have a drop-down with the full list of available options you can use. Open the drop-down by clicking on the down arrow, on the field:

Display custom content

This option allows you to display custom content, which you can later set up just as already described above, in the first part of the article:

You can choose between three different options when it comes to the content you want to display to your site's users when they do not have access to the course: "Display original title" of the course, "Display custom title" set by you, or simply "Hide title".

Redirect to login & registration page

You can also redirect the users to the login & registration page, and this option, too, works exactly like the one with the same name, already described earlier in the article, for the guests who are not logged in:

Decide whether you want to have your users redirected to the "login" or "register" state and whether they should be redirected to the content they initially tried to access after they successfully log in.

  • Redirect to custom page

Lastly, your users can be redirected to a custom page set by you:

Either search for a page existing already on your website or simply create a new one right from this dashboard.

Important!

The settings that you choose here will act as global settings and will be automatically applied to all your newly Thrive Apprentice courses.

However, for the already existing courses, you should keep in mind that after you set up the "Login & access restriction" settings from here, you will also have to access the course, go to the "Access restrictions" tab and make sure the same settings are applied in this section:

Setting up the Access Restrictions for the already existing courses

Just as mentioned above, the settings made in this dashboard are global and will be applied to any new course that you create.

If you want the options to also be applied to the already existing courses, you will have to go to the "Access restriction" tab of your course, and activate the "Restrict access" toggle (if your course does not have restrictions set up):

Then, click on the "Edit" pencil next to one of the two possible cases for which you can customize the settings:

A pop-up window will then open. Here, click on the down arrow to open the drop-down:

Select the "Default site behaviour" if you want your course to inherit the global settings you've made in your "Login & access restriction" dashboard:

This way, the older courses, created after you have modified the "Login & Access restriction" options, will also inherit the same settings.

You can also check out this article for more detailed information about the "Access Restrictions" tab:

These were the ways to use the "Restricted Content" settings, found in the "Login & Access Restriction" section of your Thrive Apprentice Settings dashboard.

Hopefully, this article was useful to you. If you have any other questions about Thrive Apprentice and its features, be sure to check out this knowledge base section.

Don't forget to leave a smile below 😄

Did this answer your question?