Once you have created your course in Thrive Apprentice and you have set up the integration with ThriveCart as well, you will have the possibility to determine who will have access to your course.

If you need help setting up the ThriveCart integration from your Thrive Apprentice dashboard, please check out this article.

When you configure the ThriveCart and Thrive Apprentice connection, you will have to choose the product that should be protected by ThriveCart (which is going to be a Thrive Apprentice product, in which you'd have to add your course).

That is how your course will then have restricted access and will be available only for people who have purchased it.

For the Thrive Apprentice dashboard, you can set up restrictions, and decide what happens if a user tries to access, for example, a course to which they do not have access because it's not a ThriveCart purchase.

In order to achieve this, you will have to add an access rule to your course. Keep reading to find out how to do that.

Create a Product in Thrive Apprentice

First, go to your Thrive Apprentice dashboard and create a product for your online course:

After you do that, you will be taken to the settings that you can customize at product level:

Configure the "Access restriction rules"

Next, what you also need to do here is to also configure the content that will be shown to the users who are trying to access the course without having the necessary permissions:

You can read more about how to set up these options in this article.

Restriction label

This option allows you to add different restriction labels to your courses. This is optional, so you can only use this feature if you want.

If you open the drop-down of this option, you will be able to select a label from here or add a new one:

This label will be shown to anyone who's viewing your course index page. Based on the label you set up here, your visitors will know whether this is a free course or a premium one.

Preview the course

After setting up all the restrictions, you can check how the course will be displayed for the logged-in visitors of your website, as well as the ones who are not logged in.

Logged In Users

In order to see how the course will be displayed for people who are already logged-in on your website, simply click on the “Preview Course” option from the upper right part of the course page.

This will open the course in a new tab, in the same browser, where you are logged in as the admin of the website. Here is an example:

Users who are not logged in

You can also check and see how the course will be displayed for people who are not logged-in. For that, open the page where the course can be found, in another browser, where you are not logged in; or open it in an incognito window. This is an example of the way a course is displayed for a visitor who is not logged in:

As you can see, the labels will let the users know that they have to purchase the product first. If, however, they try to open one of the restricted lessons, they will have to log in first:

This is how you can set an access rule for ThriveCart, in a Thrive Apprentice course. If you want to find out more about Thrive Apprentice, please make sure to check out this knowledge base section.

I hope this article was useful to you. If so, please make sure to rate it with a smile below :)

Did this answer your question?