If you want to make certain pages/posts or other content types available for users with a specific user role only, you can easily do that with the help of Thrive Apprentice.

In Thrive Apprentice, you are able to protect your content by adding the course or any other content type into a product, and then setting up access restriction rules for that product.

Here are some related help articles that might come in handy:

However, you are not required to add courses into that product. You can set up a product that only contains pages/posts etc.

Then, simply set up the necessary access requirements and the content will only be available for the users that fit the conditions.

As an example, let's make the blog only available for logged-in users (subscribers). Here's a step-by-step guide on how to do it:

Create a product

You'll start by creating a product in Thrive Apprentice. For that, access your Thrive Apprentice dashboard:

In the Thrive Apprentice dashboard, go to the "Products" section:

To add a new product, click on the "Add New" button from the right side of the screen:

Add your content to the product

Next, it's time to add the content you want to protect inside this product. Even though we're in Thrive Apprentice, products do not have to contain courses.

In the pop-up that opens when you add a new product, click ok "Add other content":

Select the necessary criteria so that the content is shown properly (in my case - "Choose content type" -> "Page"; "Select your field or taxonomy" -> "Title"):

Select the pages to be protected. In my case, I will add the "Blog" page:

Click on "Done" to save the product:

Set up the access requirements

Once the product has been set up, it's time to set up the rule that only logged-in users will be able to access it.

For that, access the "Access requirements" section of the product page:

From the "WordPress Role" section, tick the "Subscriber" checkbox and click on "Save":

You can also access the "Access restriction rules" to decide what the behaviour should be for when someone accesses that page,

You're all set! Now, when someone tries to access your page/s (or other content types that you've set up as above), they will be taken to your login page (if that's the behaviour that you have set up).

Hopefully, this article was useful. Make sure you check out our knowledge base, blog and YouTube channels for more information and tips for your website. 😄

Did this answer your question?