Using the "Conditional Display" option, you are able to set up various rules that decide how the content is being displayed for your users or visitors.

You can check out these resources for more information on this option:

One example of a situation where this option can come in very handy is this one: you can show the lesson resources of your lesson only after the student has finished it.

Here's how this can be achieved:

  • on the Lesson Template that is applied to your lessons, add a "Content Box" element;

  • add the "Lesson Resources" element inside that "Content Box" element, and set up its display options and rules;

  • set up the rule so that the "Content Box" is only available once the lesson has been marked as complete;

This way, the resource will only be available once the lesson has been taken.

Let's take it step-by-step and have a look at how we can achieve this with a few easy actions:

Access the Lesson Template and edit it

If you want the same behaviour to happen in every lesson of your course, go ahead and access the template from the "Design" section of Thrive Apprentice.

To access the templates that are currently active on your online school and applied to your content, go to the active design and click on "Edit design":

Go to the Template Editor card and click on "Manage Templates":

Find the Default Lesson Template, hover over it and click on "Edit":

This opens the Thrive Apprentice editor, and you can start editing the template. If you need more information about the Thrive Apprentice editor and the options found inside it, please check out this knowledge base section.

Add a Content Box element and place a Lesson Resources element inside it

Once the editor opens, I will add a "Content Box" element inside it. The reason I'm choosing a "Content Box" element is that this is one of the elements for which the "Conditional Display" option is available, and this is the option with the help of which we can create the display rule.

Therefore, I will go ahead and add a "Content Box" element by clicking on the plus sign from the right sidebar:

Adding the element can be done as simple as dragging it from the element list on the editor:

Inside the "Content Box", I will insert a "Lesson Resources" element:

And now, the resources of the lessons that do have any will be shown below the content.

Note: Adding a "Lesson Resouces" element to a Lesson Template means that the resources will be available for each lesson that has this template applied to it.

However, for the resources to be displayed, you will have to make sure that the lesson has been provided with resources.

If you want to see how to add resources to a lesson, check out this article.

And, if you need help with general information about the "Lesson Resources" element, please see this one.

Now that we have a "Content Box" element, we can start setting up the rule for it.

Set up the conditional display options and rules

To access the setting, make sure that the "Content Box" element is selected - you can do that from the breadcrumbs of the editor:

From the left sidebar, click on the "Conditional Display" setting, to expand the options:

Please check out the articles linked at the beginning of this one, if you need help setting up these options, as we've explained them in more detail there. This article will show you how to achieve a specific situation.

To achieve this scenario, I have added a new display that I have called "Lesson finished", and this is the one that contains the "Lesson Resources" element inside it:

To set up the display rule, click on "Conditions" here:

In the pop-up that opens, this is how I will set up the rule:

This means that the content of the "Content Box" element will be displayed when a Thrive Apprentice lesson is complete.

This way, for the users that have not finished the lesson, the content will not be visible.

Save the conditions and, as a last step here, you can hide the "Default Display":

And this info message will appear in the editor:

You are all set to save the template:

And just like that, the lesson resources will be available for the ones that have completed the lesson.

Here's the outcome, from a student's point of view: they take the lesson and, if they mark it as complete, the next time they access that lesson (or reload the page), the resources will also be available, just as shown in this animation:

Hopefully, this article was helpful and it gave you an idea of how useful the "Conditional Display" option can be. As always, you can find more information and use cases on Thrive Apprentice as well as the rest of the Thrive Products in our knowledge base.

Want to find out more about the conditional display feature? Learn all about it here.

If this article was useful, please reward us with a smile below 😄

Did this answer your question?