The Thrive Comments "General Settings" are the most basic options you need to set up before you start using the plugin on your own WordPress website.

The changes you will make in this section will overwrite the similar default WordPress comment settings, so you don't need to worry about that.

However, if you want to have a look over the default WP settings, you can access Settings > Discussion, in the WP admin dashboard.

Moving forward, you can access the "General Settings" straight from the Thrive Comments Dashboard:

By clicking on the toggle, the "General Settings" will show up, being displayed as a new section on the dashboard:

  • First of all, you can turn Thrive Comments on / off on your website:

Important!

If the Thrive Comments are turned off, the default WordPress comments will be displayed on your pages/posts (If they are allowed. See this tutorial).

  • Moving forward, you can require the visitor to comment only if he is registered as a user on your site. If you enable this option, the next one will be enabled automatically (Users can comment with their website accounts):

However, you can choose to enable only the second option, if you disable the first one.

  • Then, you can restrict the users from commenting on articles that are "older than _ number of days":
  • The next option allows you to display a certain number of comments only. For example, if you have 50 comments on the page, you can choose to display only 10 comments at a time:

Now, the next page of comments can either be loaded automatically, when the user reaches that section or with the help of a click. You can set it up from the Advanced Settings > Page Speed Optimization.

  • The next setting is where you can manage the default sorting for the comments:

This can be changed on the front-end, by the user, as well. However, this is where you set the default sorting.

  • Moving forward you have the option of enabling the sharing of individual comments on social media, by clicking on the On/Off toggle:

If enabled, this option will allow visitors to share other comments on Facebook or Twitter, or simply copy the comment URL:

  • The Remember Me functionality means that once the user is authenticated on the website, his credentials will be stored in that session until the user decides to sign off:
  • Lastly, if you click on the Enable GDPR Consent you will make sure that the user is giving you the permission of storing and handling their personal data before they are commenting on your website:

On the front-end this will be displayed as a check-box as well, asking for the user's permission:

After you customize the "General Settings" as you see fit, don't forget to take into account this message:

Make sure to check out our knowledge base articles if you want to find out more about Thrive Comments.

If you found this article useful, don't forget to rate it, below.

Did this answer your question?